AAI-2026-015 · deployment

A million pounds of solar forecasting and a rule of thumb

Britain's electricity system operator spent four years and roughly £1.04m putting a deep-learning solar forecast into its control room, cutting national forecast error from 650 MW to a fraction of that. Its own success criteria required a measured change in balancing costs and carbon. What it published instead was an extrapolation from a rule of thumb.

Cevidencepositive outcome

National Energy System Operator (NESO) · Open Climate FixVerified Sep 13, 2026

Case in one sentence

Britain’s electricity system operator and a non-profit built a deep-learning solar forecast, ran it on a control-room screen for over two years, cut national forecast error by a documented margin — and monetised the benefit by multiplying a rule of thumb.

Executive summary

Solar output is hard to predict and expensive to get wrong: an operator that cannot forecast it must hold more reserve generation, which costs money and carbon. In September 2021 National Grid ESO, now the National Energy System Operator, registered an innovation project to find out whether machine learning on satellite imagery could forecast it better. The partner was Open Climate Fix, a non-profit. The project reference is NIA2_NGESO002 and the funding mechanism is Ofgem’s Network Innovation Allowance, which is recovered from consumers through network charges.1

The results on forecast error are specific and large. NESO’s incumbent national solar forecast had a mean absolute error of 650 MW in 2021. The best model from the first work package brought that to 233 MW — a 64% improvement, described as 2.8 times better for horizons up to two hours. The second work package took the national error to 190 MW and halved the error at grid supply point level. A later version, PVNet 2.0, cut MAE by a further 29%.2

By the end of the third work package the service — branded Quartz — was running errors 38% and 39% below the two forecasts it was measured against, and the tail had shrunk more than the average: errors above 1 GW occurred on 23% of days with the incumbent PEF forecast and 5% of days with Quartz.2

It went into production. PVNet served 0–6 hour horizons, a blend covered 6–8 hours, and a gradient-boosted national model handled the rest. Availability exceeded 99.5%, the forecast sat on a large screen in the control room for over two years and was consulted daily by engineers, and the API is public and used by eight energy traders and smart home operators.2

The project cost £500,000, then £355,000, then £80,000, then £103,500 across three extensions — about £1.04m.12 Running costs were estimated in 2022 at roughly £3,753 a month, excluding training and staff.3

And the benefits? The project’s third success criterion was a “Measured change in balancing costs & CO2 emissions.”2 What the close-down report supplies instead is a rule of thumb from an internal planning annexe — reducing the daily demand forecast by 10 MW is worth about £20m a year — multiplied by an 8% error reduction to reach “over £40M per year”, plus “up to £30 million” and “100,000s of Tonnes of CO2” projected from a backtest of a separate reserve-setting model. The report nonetheless records that the project “successfully met its primary objectives and key success criteria.”2

Research question

When a system operator can measure a model’s accuracy precisely, what stops it measuring the money and carbon that accuracy was supposed to deliver?

Organization and operating context

NESO is the public corporation responsible for operating Great Britain’s electricity system, balancing supply and demand in real time. Its control room engineers decide how much reserve generation to hold, and that decision is priced: reserve held is generation paid for and often carbon burned.

Solar is the awkward case. Britain has around a million PV systems, most of them small and embedded in the distribution network rather than metered centrally, so the operator infers national solar output rather than reading it. Cloud moves faster than the half-hourly settlement period. A forecast that is wrong by a gigawatt is a real operational problem.

The Network Innovation Allowance is the funding route: licensees may recover a defined allowance for innovation projects from consumers, on condition that they register each project and publish its learning. That condition is what produces the documents this case rests on, and it is also what makes them a filing rather than a press release.

Open Climate Fix, the delivery partner, is a non-profit that develops open-source forecasting models.1 That description holds up to inspection, at least in part: the PVNet-summation model is published on Hugging Face under an MIT licence with its weights, its model and training configurations, a model card naming pinned package versions, and a link to the public training run, and Open Climate Fix maintains five open dataset repositories alongside it under MIT and CC-BY-4.0.4

The situation before AI

The baseline is stated numerically, which is rare enough to note: NESO’s existing national solar PV forecast model had a mean absolute error of 650 MW in 2021.2 Two other forecasts appear as comparators through the project — PEF, and the Balancing Mechanism Reporting Service forecast.2

The operational consequence of that error is the case’s premise. The project summary states the hypothesis plainly: more accurate solar predictions would let the operator hold less spinning reserve, cutting emissions and cost and letting the grid absorb more solar.1

That hypothesis is what the third success criterion was written to test.

The AI intervention or event

Data. Numerical weather predictions from the Met Office, satellite imagery from EUMETSAT, live PV output from pvoutput.org, and grid supply point output from PVLive — all landed into AWS storage by separate ingestion services.2

Models. Work package one trained four models and tested them against 2021 data after training on 2020. Work package two developed PVNet, a convolutional network, alongside a more experimental model called Power Perceiver; PVNet went to production. Work package three added a gradient-boosted national model that predicts the aggregate directly rather than summing grid supply point forecasts — motivated by a specific data quirk, that PVLive’s national estimate does not equal the sum of its own GSP estimates. An extension added probabilistic forecasts across all horizons and extended the national forecast from 8 to 36 hours.2

Architecture. Microservices on AWS with infrastructure defined in Terraform, which the team credits with letting the production service run uninterrupted while new versions were tested elsewhere.2

Operation. Two models in production — PVNet for 0–6 hours, a blend for 6–8, a gradient-boosted model beyond. Over 99.5% availability. A user interface with a dashboard and probabilistic display, query times cut from 20 seconds to under one. Displayed on a control room screen for over two years and consulted daily.2

What was researched and not deployed. A fourth work package integrated weather ensembles, improving deterministic accuracy by 5% and reducing large errors by up to 12% — and was not integrated into the running service, which the report says would need further research.2

Outcomes and economics

Forecast accuracy, all figures self-measured:2

Measure Value
NESO incumbent national forecast MAE, 2021 650 MW
Best model, end of work package 1 233 MW (64% better; 2.8x for horizons ≤2 hours)
Best model, end of work package 2 190 MW nationally; GSP error halved
PVNet 2.0 further 29% MAE reduction
4–8 hour GSP and national forecasts ~30% improvement over the previous model
Quartz vs PEF and BMRS, end of work package 3 38% and 39% lower error
Days with errors above 1 GW 23% with PEF, 5% with Quartz
Weather-ensemble research (not deployed) +5% deterministic accuracy, large errors down up to 12%
Service availability over 99.5%

Cost, disclosed:

Item Amount
Original project £500,0001
Extension for probabilistic forecasts (15 months) £355,0002
Extension for dynamic reserve setting £80,0002
Extension for weather ensembles (7 months) £103,5002
Total development £1,038,500
Running cost, estimated June 2022 £1,090/month data + £2,663/month compute = £3,753/month3

The running-cost estimate excludes training costs and staff costs, and its author says so.3 Those are likely the two largest lines, so the true operating cost is unknown.

Benefit, estimated:2

  • An internal planning annexe’s rule of thumb holds that reducing the daily demand forecast by 10 MW yields around £20m a year. Quartz was found to reduce demand forecast error by 8% — “many tens of MW” — which the report converts to “over £40M per year.”
  • A backtest for a separate dynamic reserve setting project showed reserve reductions of almost 100 MW, from which the report projects “up to £30 million pounds and 100,000s of Tonnes of CO2 per year in savings.”
  • Beyond that, “benefits in carbon and cost which are hard to quantify.”

This is the closest thing in the library to a case with both sides of the ledger, and the two sides are not of the same kind. The cost is itemised to the pound and disclosed by extension. The benefit is a rule of thumb multiplied by a measured error reduction, plus a projection from a backtest of a different model, expressed as “up to”.

Causal assessment and competing explanations

Labelled descriptive. The forecast-accuracy comparisons are measurements against named baselines and are the strongest part of the record; the benefit figures are extrapolations and are labelled as such below. Nothing here isolates the effect of the forecast on any operational outcome.

Three things sit between the accuracy result and the money.

The rule of thumb is doing all the work. “Reducing the daily demand forecast by 10 MW resulted in around a £20m reduction in annual costs” is a planning heuristic, applied here well outside a stated range of validity, to a quantity — demand forecast error — that is not the same as solar forecast error. The report’s own phrasing, “many tens of MW”, shows the input is approximate. Multiplying an approximate input by a heuristic constant does not produce a measurement, and the resulting £40m is not evidence of £40m.

The reserve saving is a backtest of a different model. The “up to 96 MW per settlement period” comes from the Dynamic Reserve Setting project, a separate NIA project into which Quartz forecasts were fed retrospectively.2 Whether reserve settings actually changed in operation, and whether any cost or carbon was consequently avoided, is not reported.

Control room use is not the same as control room effect. The forecast was on a screen and consulted daily. The report says engineers “are making better decisions every day” and immediately concedes the benefits are “hard to quantify”.2 No decision-level measurement is offered, which is the one thing that would connect the accuracy to the outcome.

An alternative reading deserves stating: the measurement may be genuinely hard. Attributing a change in balancing cost to one input among many, in a system where prices, weather, plant availability, and demand all move, is a serious identification problem. That is a fair defence of why the number is missing. It is not a defence of writing an unmeasured number down as though it were measured, and it does not explain why a criterion demanding measurement was recorded as met.

Failures, limitations, and governance

  • A success criterion asking for a measured change was met with an estimate. Criterion three required a “Measured change in balancing costs & CO2 emissions”; the report records the criteria as met.2
  • The benefit is a chain of unshown steps. Heuristic × error reduction → £40m; backtest → “up to £30m” and “100,000s of Tonnes”; the rest “hard to quantify”.
  • Running costs exclude staff and training. The only cost disclosure covers data feeds and cloud infrastructure, is an estimate from a calculator, and dates from 2022.3
  • The register’s benefits field reads “Not required.”1 Whatever the NIA governance reason, an innovation project justified by cost and carbon savings records no benefits assessment in its own register entry.
  • The best research result was not deployed. Weather ensembles improved accuracy 5% and reduced large errors up to 12%, and remain unintegrated.2
  • Model size is becoming an operational constraint. The team’s own lesson is that large models are hard to productionise — compute, memory, latency, and operational overhead — which is a live limit on what the next iteration can be.2
  • Continuity was a problem the team names. “Particularly high turnover at NESO forecasting team affected communication on the project.”2
  • The report disowns itself. Its disclaimer says viewers “should not place any reliance on any of the contents of this Report including (without limitation) any data, recommendations or conclusions.”2
  • Outcomes contain material that cannot be disclosed. The report notes confidential information and IP withheld for proprietary reasons.2

What this case demonstrates

  1. A national system operator moved a deep-learning forecast from prototype to daily control-room use in about four years, and published its error figures against a named incumbent baseline — a level of quantitative candour rare in this library.
  2. Tail error matters more than average error in grid operations, and this project reported it: 1 GW errors on 23% of days versus 5%. Reporting the tail alongside the mean is a practice other cases should copy.
  3. The measurable proxy improved and the outcome it stood for was never measured. That is the same shape as the missing error rates elsewhere in this library — the organisation measured what it could measure well.
  4. Regulator-mandated innovation reporting produces genuinely useful artefacts. Project reference, costs by extension, lessons learnt, and named partners are all on the public record because a licence condition required them.
  5. It also produces its own failure mode: a close-down report is written to close a project, and “successfully met its key success criteria” is what such documents say.
  6. Disclosed cost without measured benefit is still worth publishing. £1.04m development and roughly £45,000 a year of infrastructure is a real number a reader can reason with, even when the return is an estimate.
  7. Operational engineering dominates the lessons. Data cleaning, Terraform, microservices, data validation, security, leap years, and idle cloud storage costs occupy far more of the report than model architecture does.
  8. A research result can be strong and still not ship. Ensembles improved accuracy and stayed out of production because integrating them needed work the project did not have left.

What this case does not demonstrate

  • It does not establish that the forecast saved £40m, £30m, or any amount. Those figures are extrapolations from a heuristic and a backtest.
  • It does not establish any reduction in carbon emissions. The tonnage is projected, not observed.
  • It does not show that reserve settings actually changed in operation.
  • It does not independently establish the accuracy figures. Every one was measured by the parties who built the system, and the underlying error series is not published.
  • It does not give the true operating cost, which excludes staff and training by the source’s own statement.
  • It does not fully verify the open-source claim. MIT-licensed model weights and configurations are published and were inspected, but the source repositories the model card names are on GitHub, which returns 403 from this sandbox, so the code itself was not read and its completeness was not assessed. The published repositories also postdate the project, so they show that Open Climate Fix publishes PVNet openly today rather than that the project-era code was released when the report said it was.
  • It does not show what the control room did differently. Daily consultation is recorded; changed decisions are not.
  • It does not generalise to other system operators, other geographies, or other renewables.

Evidence assessment

Grade C — a regulator-mandated filing, which is a better class of self-report than most, and still one chain.

What is good here is real. The close-down report gives a numbered project reference, itemised costs by extension, a named baseline with a starting MAE, comparisons against two independent incumbent forecasts, tail-error statistics as well as means, availability figures, and about three pages of operational lessons written with evident candour — including high staff turnover at the licensee and a frank note that large models are hard to productionise.2 It exists because the Network Innovation Allowance obliges licensees to publish project learning, and an obligation to publish is a meaningfully different incentive from a decision to publish.

Four things hold it at C.

One chain. The close-down report, the project register entry, and the partner’s feasibility report are all deliverables of NIA2_NGESO002. They agree because they are the same project describing itself. Nobody outside NESO and Open Climate Fix has measured this service, and the sources in the front matter should be read as one evidentiary chain, not three.

The headline benefit is an extrapolation presented among measurements. The £40m figure sits in a Net Benefit Statement alongside genuine error measurements, in the same register and without a change of tone. A reader skimming would not distinguish “MAE fell from 650 MW to 233 MW” from “over £40M per year”, and only the first is a measurement.

The success criterion and the conclusion do not match. Criterion three asked for a measured change in balancing costs and CO2. The report supplies estimates and records the criteria as met.2 This case records the discrepancy rather than resolving it: it is possible NESO judged the estimate sufficient, and it is possible the criterion was quietly relaxed, and the document does not say which.

One claim moved, and the grade did not. The open-release assertion is now partly checked against the artefact rather than taken on the report’s word, because huggingface.co is reachable from this sandbox where github.com is not. That is worth having, and it is worth being clear about what it is not: Open Climate Fix published those files, Open Climate Fix wrote the feasibility report, and Open Climate Fix helped write the close-down report. Inspecting a party’s own repository is a better class of evidence than reading its own prose — a licence field and a file listing cannot be written persuasively — but it is the same party, so the source is filed in the same chain and the grade stays at C. Nothing here was measured by anyone who did not build the system.

The report declines to stand behind itself. Its disclaimer asks viewers not to rely on any of its data, recommendations, or conclusions and to verify independently.2 That is boilerplate on many licensee publications, and it would be unfair to read it as an admission — but a case that rests almost entirely on one document should note that the document’s author disclaims it, and that independent verification is exactly what is unavailable.

Two further limits. The running-cost figures are 2022 estimates from a cost calculator, excluding the two largest likely lines.3 And there is a minor date inconsistency worth recording rather than smoothing: the register gives a September 2021 start and a September 2025 proposed end,1 while the close-down report gives a duration of three years and nine months and a January 2026 submission.2 Nothing turns on it.

On the outcome field: positive records the measured error reduction, which is substantial, specific, and compared against named baselines. It does not record the monetary or carbon benefit, which this case treats as unestablished. A reader who thought an unmeasured benefit against a disclosed £1.04m cost warranted inconclusive would have a reasonable argument, and the claim labels below carry that uncertainty explicitly.

Material claims

Claim Label Evidence What would change this
NESO’s incumbent national solar forecast had an MAE of 650 MW in 2021. Attributed Stated in the close-down report as the baseline against which the project measured itself; not independently verifiable2 Publication of the incumbent forecast’s error series
The best work-package-1 model reached 233 MW MAE, a 64% improvement. Attributed Measured by the project team, training on 2020 data and evaluating on 20212 Release of the evaluation data, or an independent replication
By the end of work package 3, Quartz errors were 38% and 39% below PEF and BMRS. Attributed Reported in the net benefit statement; the comparison periods and conditions are not stated2 The underlying comparison series
Errors above 1 GW occurred on 23% of days with PEF and 5% with Quartz. Attributed Reported in the net benefit statement2 The underlying daily error record
The service ran in production above 99.5% availability and was consulted daily by control room engineers for over two years. Attributed Stated in the outcomes and net benefit statement2 Operational monitoring records, or control-room testimony
The project cost about £1.04m in total. Supported £500,000 in the register plus £355,000, £80,000 and £103,500 of extensions itemised in the close-down report; both are the licensee’s own figures, but NIA expenditure is a regulated disclosure12 An Ofgem or audit restatement
Running costs were about £3,753 per month for data and infrastructure. Attributed An estimate produced with the AWS cost calculator in June 2022, explicitly excluding training and staff costs3 Actual invoiced costs, or an updated estimate including staff
The true operating cost of the service. Unknown The only disclosure excludes the two largest likely lines and is four years old3 A full cost disclosure
The forecast delivers over £40m a year in reduced costs. Attributed An internal planning rule of thumb, that 10 MW of demand forecast reduction is worth about £20m a year, multiplied by an 8% error reduction described as “many tens of MW”2 An observed change in balancing costs attributable to the forecast
The forecast will deliver up to £30m a year and hundreds of thousands of tonnes of CO2 through dynamic reserve setting. Attributed Projected from a backtest of a separate NIA project’s reserve-setting model, stated as “up to” and in future tense2 Measured reserve settings and costs before and after operational deployment
Any change in balancing costs or carbon emissions was measured. Unknown The project’s third success criterion required it; the report supplies estimates and records the criteria as met2 Publication of the measurement, or an acknowledgement that it was not made
Weather-ensemble methods improved deterministic accuracy by 5% and reduced large errors by up to 12%. Attributed Reported from the fourth work package’s research; not integrated into the running service2 Integration and operational measurement
Trained PVNet-summation weights and their full training configuration are published under an MIT licence, with a public training log. Verified Inspected directly: the repository’s licence field, file listing, model card, and model configuration4 The repository being withdrawn or relicensed
The forecast and its code were delivered fully open, as the report claims. Supported The weights, configurations, and five dataset repositories are open and were inspected; the source repositories named in the model card are on GitHub, which is unreachable here, and the published artefacts postdate the project24 Inspection of the named source repositories, or evidence that the project-era code was never released
The service is used by eight energy traders and smart home operators. Attributed Stated in the net benefit statement with no supporting detail2 API usage records, or statements from the users

Direct quotations

“NESO’s existing national solar PV forecasts model in 2021 had a Mean Absolute Error (MAE) of 650 MW. The best national PV forecasts developed in this WP had a MAE of 233 MW an improvement of 64%.”

— National Energy System Operator, on the result of the first work package2 · locator: Close Down Report, “Performance Compared to the Original Project Aims”, WP1 – Design

“Measured change in balancing costs & CO2 emissions. User satisfaction. Identified next steps to apply agile/CI/CD to a future NGESO project.”

— The project’s third success criterion, as registered2 · locator: Close Down Report, Success Criteria, item 3

“Using a rule of thumb method from ESO: Forward Plan Technical Annexe, reducing the daily demand forecast by 10 MW resulted in around a £20m reduction in annual costs. Using Quartz forecast was found to reduce the demand forecast error using the NESO model by 8%, or many tens of MW, or over £40M per year.”

— The net benefit statement, in place of the measured change the criterion asked for2 · locator: Close Down Report, Net Benefit Statement, third paragraph

“Control Room Engineers are making better decisions every day with this improved solar forecast, which will have multiple benefits in carbon and cost which are hard to quantify.”

— National Energy System Operator2 · locator: Close Down Report, Net Benefit Statement, final paragraph

“Large Machine Learning models are harder to productionise: Large Machine Learning models proved to be difficult to productionise due to their substantial requirements for compute, memory, latency and operational overhead which increase deployment cost and system complexity.”

— A lesson recorded from work package 32 · locator: Close Down Report, Lessons Learnt, WP3 and WP1 extension, item 2

“The Report provided is for information only and viewers of the Report should not place any reliance on any of the contents of this Report including (without limitation) any data, recommendations or conclusions and should take all appropriate steps to verify this information before acting upon it and rely on their own information.”

— The disclaimer printed inside the report this case principally relies on2 · locator: Close Down Report, “Performance Compared to the Original Project Aims”, preamble

“These costs are estimates made using our current understanding of the hardware requirements and using the AWS costs calculator.”

— Open Climate Fix, on the only running-cost figures in the record3 · locator: Feasibility report, “Inference and Presentation Computing costs”, following Table 3

Revision notes

  • 2026-09-13 — Source review. The open-source claim, recorded at publication as uncheckable because github.com returns 403 from this sandbox, is now partly verified through Hugging Face, which is reachable: the PVNet-summation model is published by Open Climate Fix under an MIT licence with weights, model and training configurations, a model card naming pinned package versions, and a public training-run log, alongside five open dataset repositories. The Attributed claim is replaced by two — a Verified one about what was actually inspected and a Supported one about the broader assertion, which still rests partly on the report. Two consistency checks fell out of the configuration and are recorded: 331 input locations matching the report’s grid supply point level, and a 480-minute horizon matching the eight-hour national service. Also recorded: the repositories postdate the project, so they show current practice rather than a project-era release, and the organisation holding the weights does not carry Hugging Face’s verified badge while the one holding the datasets does. A judgment call, flagged as such: the new source is filed under the existing nia2-ngeso002 family rather than given its own, because it is Open Climate Fix again and a new family id would make the chain count read as corroboration that does not exist. Grade unchanged at C for the same reason.
  • 2026-09-13 — Initial publication at Grade C. The library’s first energy-utilities case, and the closest it has to a case with both sides of a cost-benefit ledger — which is why the asymmetry between the two sides is the case’s subject rather than a footnote: £1,038,500 of disclosed development cost against a benefit derived by multiplying a planning rule of thumb. Held at C because the three sources are deliverables of one project describing itself, notwithstanding that Network Innovation Allowance reporting is a licence obligation rather than voluntary publicity, which makes it a better class of self-report than a blog post. Records the discrepancy between a success criterion demanding a “Measured change in balancing costs & CO2 emissions” and a close-down report that supplies estimates while recording the criteria as met, without resolving which of the two possible explanations applies. outcome: positive records the measured error reduction and not the monetary claims, and the evidence assessment says a reader preferring inconclusive would have a reasonable argument. The open-source claim could not be checked because github.com returns 403 from this sandbox. Related to AAI-2026-012 and AAI-2026-013 as the third self-reported deployment in the library, and to the methodology’s new section on measuring the proxy rather than the outcome.

Footnotes

  1. National Energy System Operator, “PV Nowcasting” innovation project record, NIA2_NGESO002, project completed September 2025. 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  2. National Energy System Operator, “NIA Project Close Down Report: Solar PV Nowcasting, NIA2_NGESO002”, submitted January 2026, published under Ofgem Network Innovation Allowance reporting obligations. 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

  3. Open Climate Fix, “Solar PV Nowcasting Using Deep Learning: Feasibility of Running ML-powered PV Nowcasts in Real Time”, June 2022, project deliverable for NIA2_NGESO002. 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  4. Open Climate Fix, PVNet_summation model repository, openclimatefix-models/pvnet_uk_summation, Hugging Face, created 2026-04-07, last modified 2026-08-21, MIT licence. Dataset repositories at openclimatefix. 2 3

Evidence ledger

CAttributed

The deployment or event is credible, but central outcome claims depend mainly on a participant, vendor, or single incomplete source.

Material sources
4
Independent chains
1
Archived
0 of 4

Every source below traces back to one origin. Under the triangulation rule this counts as a single evidentiary chain, however many outlets repeat it.

What would strengthen this case

Grade B needs the measurement the project's own third success criterion demanded and did not deliver: an observed change in balancing costs and carbon attributable to the forecast, rather than a rule-of-thumb multiplication. Failing that, three cheaper things would each help — the underlying error series so the reported MAE improvements can be recomputed, an evaluation by a party that neither built nor commissioned the system, and the staff and training costs the published running-cost estimate explicitly excludes. The open-source claim is now partly verified — MIT-licensed model weights and training configurations are published on Hugging Face, which is reachable where github.com is not — but the source repositories the model card names remain uninspected, and the published artefacts postdate the project.

  1. Chain 1 of 1Shared origin: nia2-ngeso002

    • NIA Project Close Down Report: Solar PV Nowcasting, NIA2_NGESO002

      Primary investigationDirect evidenceParticipant account

      Access
      The project's own record: four years of model development, the error figures measured against NESO's incumbent forecasts, the control-room deployment, the cost of each extension, and a net benefit statement.
      Method
      A regulator-mandated close-down report. Network licensees must publish project progress information under the Network Innovation Allowance governance framework, which makes this a filing rather than a marketing document — but the measurements in it were taken by the parties that built the system, and the report carries a disclaimer stating that viewers should not place any reliance on its contents and should verify the information independently.
      Conflicts
      Written by the funding licensee about a project it commissioned and part-designed, with its delivery partner. NIA funding is recovered from consumers through network charges, which gives a licensee an interest in reporting benefit. The disclaimer disowning reliance on the report's own contents is unusual enough to be worth weighing.
      Corroboration
      None. No party outside NESO and Open Climate Fix has published a measurement of this service.
      Accountability
      Published on the licensee's site with a project reference number, a submission date, a named contact, a stated funding mechanism, and itemised costs; also required to appear on the Smarter Networks Portal.
      Notes
      Read in full, 8 pages. Source of the MAE figures, the extension costs, the lessons learnt, and the net benefit statement. The report states the project 'successfully met its primary objectives and key success criteria' while its third success criterion asked for a measured change in balancing costs and CO2 emissions that the report does not supply.

      Accessed Sep 13, 2026No archive snapshot

    • PV Nowcasting — innovation project record, NIA2_NGESO002

      Participant account

      Access
      The project register entry: reference number, status, dates, funding mechanism, headline expenditure, collaborators, and a summary of outcomes and lessons.
      Method
      A structured register entry rather than an evaluation. It restates the close-down report's outcomes in summary form.
      Conflicts
      Same as above — the licensee's own record of its own project.
      Corroboration
      Consistent with the close-down report on every figure they share.
      Accountability
      Published in a searchable public register of innovation projects with a reference number and stated expenditure.
      Notes
      Read in full. Source of the £500,000 headline expenditure, the September 2021 start and September 2025 proposed end, the 'Complete' status, and the identification of Open Climate Fix as the third-party collaborator. Its benefits field reads 'Not required.'

      Accessed Sep 13, 2026No archive snapshot

    • Solar PV Nowcasting Using Deep Learning: Feasibility of Running ML-powered PV Nowcasts in Real Time

      Participant accountAnalysis

      Access
      The delivery partner's own costing of the service it was building: data feed prices, cloud compute and storage estimates, and the operating assumptions behind them.
      Method
      A feasibility report written midway through the project. The running costs are estimates produced with the AWS cost calculator against a then-current understanding of hardware requirements, assuming three environments with test and development sized at half of production. It states plainly that training costs and staff costs are excluded.
      Conflicts
      Written by the supplier, about the service it was contracted to deliver, at a point when continued funding depended on feasibility being demonstrated.
      Corroboration
      None. The costs are not restated or updated in the close-down report.
      Accountability
      A named organisation's report published as a project deliverable through the licensee's document register, dated, with costs itemised by line.
      Notes
      Read for the cost sections. Its figures are the only running-cost disclosure in this record, they are estimates rather than actuals, they date from June 2022, and they exclude the two largest likely cost lines.

      Accessed Sep 13, 2026No archive snapshot

    • PVNet_summation model repository, openclimatefix-models/pvnet_uk_summation, with the Open Climate Fix model and dataset repositories on Hugging Face

      Direct evidence

      Access
      The artefact rather than a description of it: trained model weights as a safetensors file, the model, datamodule, and full experiment configurations as YAML, a model card naming the software packages and their pinned versions, and a link to the public Weights & Biases run for the training job. Alongside it, five Open Climate Fix dataset repositories including the UK PV generation data and the Met Office deterministic solar feed.
      Method
      Not a report and not a measurement. This is a public code and weights repository, read through the Hugging Face API and by fetching the raw files, and used here for exactly one purpose: to check whether an open-release claim made in a report corresponds to anything a reader can actually download.
      Conflicts
      Published by the delivery partner, about its own work, and therefore not an independent chain. Its value is that it is inspectable rather than asserted — a licence field and a file listing cannot be written persuasively — not that anyone disinterested vouched for it.
      Corroboration
      The published configuration is consistent with the close-down report on two checkable points: 331 input locations, matching the grid supply point level the report describes, and a 480-minute forecast horizon, matching the eight hours the report gives for the national service before its later extension. It is not corroboration of the report's performance figures, which these files do not contain.
      Accountability
      Organisation-scoped repositories carrying an MIT licence declaration, a dated commit history, a model card naming pinned package versions, and a public training-run log. The companion organisation openclimatefix, holding the datasets, carries Hugging Face's verified badge; the openclimatefix-models organisation holding the weights does not, and its identity rests on a shared avatar, overlapping membership, and model cards that name the same repositories.
      Notes
      Consulted because github.com returns 403 from this sandbox and huggingface.co does not, which made it the only available route to check an open-release claim. Read: the organisation and repository metadata for both Open Climate Fix organisations, the model card, and the model configuration. Not read: the source repositories the model card names, which are on GitHub. The repositories were created in 2025 and 2026, after the project closed, so they establish that Open Climate Fix publishes PVNet openly — not that the project-era code was released at the time.

      Accessed Sep 13, 2026No archive snapshot

Cited in the synthesis